Posted by: Dr Martha Eddy | February 13, 2008

At the Water’s Edge

jaime-dream.jpg

DREAM, from At the Water’s EdgeThese are my photographic perceptions of the elements. I am intrigued by the creativity of biology, and how we can aesthetically explore our inner and outer nature. My classes in Somatic Expression are designed to reveal life evolving within the human body. Similarly, my photographs are designed to reveal life unfolding outside of our own skin.

I am a somatic educator and movement therapist. The goal of my work – Somatic Expression – is to restore and celebrate the wisdom of the body’s nature. This has been my creative calling. I am also a photographer. This has been my aesthetic meditation. For me, photography in nature is like the somatic inquiry: focusing attention, tracking movement, exploring possibility and experiencing different states of mind. The various somatic tools of breath, sound, movement and stillness quiet my inner narrative, softening the boundary between inner sensing and outer perceiving. 

Excerpt from: Artist statement from “At the Water’s Edge” exhibit, September 11 – December 7, 2007, California Institute of Integral Studies, San Francisco: Jamie McHugh

TO LEARN MORE ABOUT SOMATIC EXPRESSION, VIEW MORE PHOTOS AND READ FULL TEXT PLEASE SEE  http://www.somaticexpression.com/photos/index.html 

Leave a Reply

Categories

